Join Us

Tralee CBS retain Kerry Schools Cricket Cup title

Rob Duggan | 27 Apr 2016

Tralee CBS retain Kerry Schools Cricket Cup title

Tralee CBS Challengers, who won the inaugural Kerry Schools Cricket Cup last year, continued their dominance of the competition with a 100% winning record at the Schools Cricket Cup Finals day held at the Mercy Mounthawk school’s sports hall recently.

Two teams from Castleisland Community College, one team from CBS and three teams from Mercy Mounthawk competed in the round-robin match format from which the winning school would be decided on a win percentage basis and we witnessed some truly excellent cricket during the morning’s six intensely-fought matches.

In Round 1, CBS Challengers (158 runs) beat Mounthawk Marvels (132 runs) by 21 runs, Castleisland Cougars (145 runs) beat Mounthawk Mavericks (136 runs) by 9 runs and there was a thrilling finish to the other Round 1 match when Mounthawk Marauders’ last pair snatched 2 runs off the last ball of the match to force a tie with Castleisland Colts - both teams finishing with 142 runs.

Mounthawk Marauders (158 runs) continued their momentum in Round 2 with a narrow 6 run win over Castleisland Cougars (152 runs) and there was a similarly tight finish between Castleisland Colts (135 runs) and Mounthawk Marvels (140 runs) with the Marvels just shading it by 5 runs.

Going in to the final match of the morning, reigning title-holders CBS Challengers knew that they had to beat or tie with Mounthawk Mavericks to ensure that they retained their title as a loss would mean losing out to Mercy Mounthawk by 8 percentage points.

Batting first CBS, displaying champion-style resolve and ruthlessness, set the Mavericks a challenging target of 162 runs to win which proved just too much for them to chase. The Mavericks lost by a creditable 18 runs largely down to a terrific last wicket partnership which brought the Mavericks from 119 to 143 in the last two overs of the match.

Final table






Win %





8 from 8






10 from 24






6 from 16



Following the presentation of the trophy to the winning CBS team by County Kerry Cricket Club’s Richard Rutland, Cricket Ireland’s Regional Development Officer for Munster, James Doran, in a short speech complimented all firty-three players who took part for providing a top class morning’s cricket of skill and endeavour and also for being such excellent sporting ambassadors for their respective schools.

Mr. Doran went on to pay particular thanks to Mr. Aidan O’Shea of Mercy Mounthawk for arranging the availability of the sports hall and also to Mr. O’Shea, Ms. Maria Moriarty of Castleisland Community College and Mrs. Anne O’Callaghan of Tralee CBS for assisting with the running of cricket sessions at their respective schools during the winter/spring term.

He concluded by expressing his appreciation for the invaluable contribution to both the running of the sessions and the Finals day made by County Kerry Cricket Club coaches Jonathan Boulding and Alam Morshed, also noting that the County Kerry club’s development of a coaching structure and the coming onstream this year of the new cricket ground at Spa means that the club is now well-placed to manage the growth in secondary schools’ cricket in the Kingdom.