Join Us

Trailblazing Limerick Look to Cause the Ultimate Upset

The Editor | 02 Sep 2018

Trailblazing Limerick Look to Cause the Ultimate Upset
The Limerick side that defeated Galway at Lydican in the semi-final

It's D-Day for the boys from Adare, as Limerick make history this afternoon, becoming Munster's first ever club side to feature in a national final, taking on Rush in the Clear Currency Irish National Cup final at Kenure.

The visitors will be looking to add their third Leinster scalp of this campaign, having already beaten Longford and Knockharley on the way to the final, but a Rush outfit who have won this competition two of the last three season will prove a much stiffer test.

The Dubliners have a bit of a Munster connection themselves, with former Reds bowler Allan Eastwood still proving effective with the ball at the age of 38, while at the other end of the scale Stephen Doheny - who played a key role for the Reds this season, and scored 54 with the bat and took 4-13 with the ball against Ballyspallen in the semi-final - their danger man.

However, this Limerick side, in only their third National Cup campaign, will be full of optimism as well as carrying momentum from last week's defeat of title-challenging Cork Harlequins in the Munster Premier Division, and having enjoyed a comfortable defeat of County Galway in the semi-final.

And with some dangerous, explosive players with bat and ball, Limerick will give themselves a chance against favourites Rush, hoping to repeat some of the form that saw them into the final.

Arsalan Khalid has been carrying a huge bat this season in the competition, while devastating seamer Mudassar Aziz will be looking to make life as difficult as possible for Rush's opening pair. Brothers Murtaza and Mustafa Sidiqi are match-winners with both bat and ball, having both been a part of the Munster Reds squad in 2018.

Regardless of the result, reaching a national final has been a phenomenal achievement by Limerick. But resting on their laurels is not the way of this side, who will look to cause a massive cup upset, and bring it home to Adare on the first time of asking.

Limerick side to face Rush CC in the Irish National Cup final: Arsalan Khalid, Farman Yousafzai, Farrukh Bhagat, Gurmukh Singh, Hashir Sultan, Mudassar Aziz, Murtaza, Mustafa Sidiqi, Sarfraz Ramay, Swaroop, Varsh Shetty (WK), Zia Khan (Capt).