Join Us

Reds Name Squad for Hanley Energy IP20

The Editor | 09 May 2018

Reds Name Squad for Hanley Energy IP20
Cork County's Cormac Hassett will again hope to feature this season - Credit: John Ketch

Some new faces, mixed with many old ones, as Munster Reds Head Coach Ted Williamson named his 20-man squad for the upcoming Hanley Energy Interprovincial T20 tournament today.

After a promising start to life back at Interprovincial level last year, the Reds - sponsored this season by All Rounder Cricket - are looking to push on in 2018 and pick up their first win in the competition, but have a difficult start when they host the reigning champions Leinster Lightning at the Mardyke next Friday, 18th May (5pm start).

Former Irish international Max Sorensen joins the Reds this season from the Lightning, looking to add crucial experience to a young bunch down South, and hopes are that the Johannesburg-born seamer will another extra bite to Munster’s bowling attack.

There are five Munster based players in the initial squad of 14, with Cork County's Aaron Cawley and Abubakar Saddique joining Cork Harlequins’ Mubeen Ali and Ruadhán Jones, rounded off by Country Kerry’s Yaqoob Ali.

Jack Tector, who narrowly missed out on a place in Ireland's maiden test team, has rejoined the Reds for another season and named captain for the campaign. He is joined by Robert Forrest, Jamie Grassi, Nicolaas Pretorius, Max Neville, David Delany, and Rory Anders from last season's side.

Rush’s Stephen Doheny is the other new face joining the Reds for 2018.

In addition to the five Munster-based players in the initial squad, Williamson has also named a further six local lads in his extended squad.

Cormac Hassett, Morne Bauer, and Diarmuid Carey (Cork County); Senan Jones (Cork Harlequins), and brothers Murtaza and Mustafa Sidiqi (Limerick) are all there, with Hassett and Bauer both having a taste of IP20 action last year.

Munster Reds Squad for 2018 Hanley Energy Interprovincial T20: Jack Tector (YMCA, Captain), Max Sorensen (The Hills), Robert Forrest (Clontarf), Stephen Doheny (Rush), Jamie Grassi (North County), Nicolaas Pretorius (The Hills), Max Neville (Merrion), David Delany (Clontarf), Rory Anders (Phoenix), Aaron Cawley (Cork County), Mubeen Ali (Cork Harlequins), Ruadhán Jones  (Cork Harlequins) Abubakar Saddique (Cork County), Yaqoob Ali (Co Kerry), Cormac Hassett (Cork County), Morne Bauer (Cork County), Senan Jones (Cork Harlequins), Diarmuid Carey (Cork County), Murtaza Sidiqi (Limerick), Mustafa Sidiqi (Limerick).

Munster Reds Management Team:

Team Manager: David Griffin; Head Coach/Selector: Ted Williamson; Selectors: Chris Thomas & Jack Tector; Team Administration Officer: Kevin Galvin.