Join Us

Reds Clinch First Interprovincial T20 Win

06 Jul 2018

Reds Clinch First Interprovincial T20 Win

A historic day for Munster Cricket, as the Reds - captained by Cork County's Jeremy Benton - won their first ever game in the Hanley Energy Interprovincial T20, defeating the North-West Warriors by six wickets in the first game of this weekend's festival.

The Reds had early billing, playing against Andrew McBrine's North-West Warriors at 11am, who were taken to the last over by Ted Williamson's side in the reverse fixture at Eglinton a few weeks ago.

This time the Reds were back at Pembroke, and having won the toss and sent the Warriors into bat, they had an early breakthrough, as Porterfield hit the final ball of the game's first over right into the hands of Ruadhán Jones.

And regular wickets saw David Rankin, Stuart Thompson, and William McClintock fall, with the Warriors reeling on 16-4. An excellent partnership between captain McBrine and Aaron Gillespie saw the latter top score with 80*, as eventually the Warriors set their southern opponents 163 to chase.

A chase that started well, with Doheny well assisted by YMCA's Oliver Gunning, making his first start of Munster, before departing on 17 with the Reds on 31-1.

It was Doheny's first time opening the batting for the Reds, and despite losing Nicolaas Pretorius - bowled by Thompson - not long after, he took the role nicely, as Robert Forrest joined him at the crease with four overs on the board.

Over 10 overs and 92 runs later, Forrest was eventually caught by Thompson off Kennedy's bowling, but not before Rush's Doheny charged to his half-century in 35 balls, as the Reds needed another 35 runs to get over the line.

When Doheny was eventually caught in the covers by Craig Young off McBrine's bowling for 64 (43), the necessary 13 runs left looked a bit awkward, but incoming David Delany's professional cameo alongside Max Sorensen 19* (9) saw Munster over the line with three overs to spare, capturing their first ever List A win.

North-West Warriors 162-7 (20) (A Gillespie 80*; Y Ali 2-27, D Delany 2-30) lost to Munster Reds 163-4 (17) (S Doheny 64, R Forrest 36; A McBrine 2-32) by six wickets.

Full scorecard