Join Us

2017 Munster Senior Cup Final

11 Aug 2017

2017 Munster Senior Cup Final

The 2017 Senior Cup Final sees Limerick make their first appearance in the showpiece fixture since being victorious in 1994 as they take on Cork County who they defeated in that game. Cork County will be seeking their 12th Cup title since 2000 and hoping to add it to their Senior T20 title which they won earlier this season.

Cork County come into the game following convincing wins at both Quarter and Semi-Final stages, beating County Galway and Midleton, respectively. County saw off the 2016 winners from Galway by 5 wickets and, then swept Midleton aside in emphatic fashion by 224 runs at Town Park.

Limerick had received a bye into the Semi-Final stage where they met County Kerry in a nail-biting and controversial fixture which had to be replayed as a 20 over game due to abandonment of the original one. Chasing 163 to win, Limerick reached their target with just 1 wicket remaining following the award of 12 penalty points due to the slow over rate of County Kerry.  

The match starts at 12 noon at the Mardyke with all cricket supporters welcome to attend the showpiece fixture of the Munster club calendar.

Limerick squad:

Arsalan Khalid, Asif Shahab, Farman Yousafzai, Farrukh Bhagat+, Ibrahim Khan, Khalid Ahmad, Khalil Ahmad, Murtaza Sidiqi, Mustafa Sidiqi, Sufyan Khan, Zia Khan* & Mohamed Shifan

Cork County squad:

Stephan Grobler, Bakar Wattoo, Cormac Hassett*+, Robert Duggan, Gary King, Aaron Cawley, Kevy Bray,  Kevin O'Sullivan, Anthony O'Reilly, Diarmuid Carey, Andrew O'Reilly & Ramesh Neppalli

Winners since 2000:

  • 2016 - County Galway
  • 2015 - Cork County
  • 2014 - County Galway
  • 2013 - Cork County
  • 2012 - Cork County
  • 2011 - Cork Harlequins
  • 2010 - Cork County
  • 2009 - Cork Harlequins
  • 2008 - Cork County
  • 2007 - Cork Harlequins
  • 2006 - Cork County
  • 2005 - Cork County 
  • 2004 - Cork County 
  • 2003 - Cork County 
  • 2002 - Cork County 
  • 2001 - Cork County 
  • 2000 - University College Cork